2019 Awards Dinner


What a wonderful night we had on the 8th November, Im sure the 307 that attended will agree. The room was full and the atmosphere was uplifting. We all gathered to celebrate the successes of over 30 competition classes, as well as some special awards which were previously unannounced. The Society, in its 180th year felt stronger than ever as we enjoyed an evening with sponsors, winners, nominees, stewards and supporters.  We were fortunate, that although judges were from all over the UK, that very many could join us on the night.

We had a delicious meal, with thanks to Beech Tree catering, there has been lots of positive feedback about the service and quality of the meal. 

Our Chairman, Graham Parks took to the microphone and summarised the year before handing over the Mr Hugh McClymont, Supreme Judge who spoke about his day judging the Supreme Championship. It was clear for us all to hear that he had had an excellent but tough day judging.

Alan Walker, past Chairman was the MC for the night and first introduced Mr Ed Parrish to the microphone to announce the winners in the “Competent Young Person” Class.

Samuel Perch was given a special certificate in recognition of his achievements to date.

3rd Jack Halton

2nd Jack Ancell

1st Grace Pedley

The nominees in this section were nominated via their employers and then interviewed on farm.

We next moved onto the “Oxford Farming Conference Award” Alan Ford (CAS) had been the head judge and sponsor of this award.  Nominees for this class had been put forward from the individual classes via the judges and stewards. Alan announced Steven Pace as the recipient of this award.  Well done Steven, we hope you have an enjoyable and educational time in January at the conference.

Our President Mr Tony Garnett announced Rob Ford as the winner of the “Ambassador Award”

We then moved onto the winners for all the other classes from wheat to diversification to farm gardens and everything in between. Christine McClymont presented the awards and the results were announced for the overall cattle and arable trophy.

AL Moore and Partners- NWF Cattle Trophy

CH Dakin and Son- Arable Trophy

The presentations concluded with Ian Norbury Receiving the Reserve Champion Trophy and Halton Farms Receiving the Supreme Champion Farm trophy.  A special thanks must go the whole Halton Farms team for putting on such a fabulous Farm Walk earlier in the year which was enjoyed by recorded numbers of attendees. Tanya and Alan Winstanley hosted an equally successful garden opening evening in July.  As a Society, we feel very lucky that winners are willing to host such events for us all to enjoy. 


Below are a small selection of the photos,  for lots more please visit https://joannaeardleyphotography.pixieset.com/cheshirefarmscompetiton/

  • CheshireFarmsComp 2022 102 Small
  • Picture 102 Small
  • CheshireFarmsComp 2022 215 Small
  • CheshireFarmsComp 2022 110 Small
  • CheshireFarmsComp 2022 186 Small
  • CheshireFarmsComp 2022 120 Small
  • CheshireFarmsComp 2022 2 Small

CCFC Committee

  • President
    Ray Brown 
  • Chairman
    Will Glenn 
  • Deputy President 
    Ed Shaw
  • Secretary
    Catherine Cross

Associated With 

Cheshire Agriculture Society
Mid Cheshire Farmers Club
The Cheshire Farmers Club
Cheshire West & Chester Council
Cheshire East Council
Cheshire Grassland Society

Cheshire YFC

Events Diary

  • Monday 10th June Farm Garden Open Evening
  • TBC- Supreme Farm Farm Open Evening 
  • Friday 8th Nov - Annual  Dinner and awards presentation evening 

Contact Us

For more details please contact the secretary.

Contact Us

Entry Forms